Protect our public libraries

Take action TODAY to protect our public libraries!

All across California, city councils are making decisions about privatizing their public libraries. Often this happens behind closed doors, with very little community input and without a full understanding of how library services could be affected. A new bill, AB 438, changes that!

The California Senate is about to take its final vote on AB 438 this week. That means you have a chance to ask your senator to support transparency and accountability. Because state senators hear from so few of their constituents, every call makes a difference.

Call or email your Senator today to support AB 438 and preserve public libraries in your community!

Don’t know who your senator is? Click here to find out.

District 8 (San Francisco and San Mateo Counties):
Senator Leland Y. Yee
(650) 340-8840
Senator.Yee@senate.ca.gov

District 10 (Portions of Alameda and Santa Clara Counties)
Senator Ellen M. Corbett
Email form or Senator.Corbett@sen.ca.gov

District 11 (Cities of San Carlos, Redwood City, Menlo Park, Atherton, East Palo Alto, Palo Alto, Stanford, Los Altos, Los Altos Hills, Cupertino, Campbell, Santa Cruz, Capitola, and a third of San Jose):
Senator S. Joseph Simitian
(831) 425-0401
Email form or Senator.Simitian@sen.ca.gov

District 12 (Stanislaus, Merced, Madera, San Benito and Monterey Counties):
Senator Anthony Cannella
Merced Office: (209) 726-5495
Modesto Office: (209) 577-6592
Salinas Office: (831) 769-8040
Email form or Senator.Cannella@sen.ca.gov

District 13 (Cities of San Jose, Santa Clara, Sunnyvale, Mountain View and Gilroy):
Senator Elaine Kontominas Alquist
(408) 286-8318
Email form or Senator.Alquist@sen.ca.gov

District 14 (Portions of Fresno, Madera, San Joaquin, Stanislaus Counties and entire Counties of Mariposa and Tuolumne):
Senator Tom Berryhill
Fresno Office: (559) 253-7122
Modesto Office: (209) 576-6470
Email form or Senator.Berryhill@sen.ca.gov

District 15 (Portions of Monterey, Santa Barbara, Santa Clara and Santa Cruz Counties, and entire San Luis Obispo County):
Senator Sam Blakeslee
(831) 657-6315
Senator.Blakeslee@sen.ca.gov

District 16 (Portions of Fresno, Kern, Kings, and Tulare Counties):
Senator Michael J. Rubio
Bakersfield Office: (661) 395-2620
Fresno Office: (559) 264-3070
Hanford Office: (559) 582-2800
senator.rubio@sen.ca.gov

Please let us know what happened when you contacted your Senator’s office. 

Read an editorial: “Public interest needs protection in deals to privatize libraries,” San Jose Mercury News, Aug. 8, 2011.

Click here for more information.

Did you like this? Share it:

Comments about Protect our public libraries are welcome. Off-topic comments and other violations of our community guidelines may be withheld or removed. Comments do not appear immediately after posting.

Leave a Reply