Monterey Bay Air Pollution Control District art contest

On May 21, the Monterey Bay Unified Air Pollution Control District recognized 12 children from Monterey, San Benito and Santa Cruz County schools, for their artistic interpretations for keeping our air clean.

Air District Photo

Left: Dave Frisbey, SEIU 521 Member, Middle: Amy Clymo, Planning Supervisor, Right: Julia Duran, SEIU 521 Member Leader

Air District employees and members lead this project every year and put together a calendar with art from 12 lucky contestants who get recognition from the Board and a prize.

2014 Art Contest Winners:

6th Grade – Cover Winner Marq Virgil T. Mamaril – Lakeview Middle School – Watsonville
1st Violet Romero Lagunita School – Salinas
1st Micheal Reyna Mission Park School – Salinas
2nd Ashley Wang Southside School – Hollister
3rd Sidney Hellesoe De Laveaga School – Santa Cruz
3rd Ria Shirdhankar International School of Monterey – Seaside
4th Joslynn Ortega San Juan Elementary School – Hollister
5th Robin Johnson Jefferson Elementary School – Paicines
5th Jaya Waller Spring Grove School – Hollister
6th Amy Gomez Loma Vista BEST – Salinas
6th Mark Fitzgerald Mountain Elementary School – Soquel
7th Bryanna Mendez Washington Middle School – Salinas
8th Bridgett Maughan Learning for Life Charter School – Marina


Thanks to all our Air District SEIU 521 members for all the work you do to keep our air clean in our beautiful counties.

Did you like this? Share it:

Comments about Monterey Bay Air Pollution Control District art contest are welcome. Off-topic comments and other violations of our community guidelines may be withheld or removed. Comments do not appear immediately after posting.

Leave a Reply