

SEIU Local 521 is a democratically-run, member-driven organization. This means members govern and are at the heart of every decision in our union. At the head of our member-driven governance is our union's Executive Board. Members elect the officers and executive board from among their fellow union members, every three years. Guided by SEIU International Constitution & Bylaws, they make decisions about our union's budget, policies, and other organizational issues. The officers and board members are active union members representing every division in our union.

Congratulations to the SEIU Local 521 members elected to the next 3-year SEIU Local 521 Executive Board term.

The official election vote count was conducted and certified by the Independent Election Vendor, Unilect, on Wednesday, February 9, at the SEIU Local 521 Headquarters located at 2302 Zanker Rd. in San Jose, CA.

During the upcoming March Executive Board meeting, the Election Committee will submit a written report, including the certified results. The certified election results were posted for public viewing on the SEIU Local 521 elections website on Thursday, February 10, 2022: <u>https://www.seiu521.org/521elections</u>. All elected officers and Executive Board members shall assume office upon taking an oath of office at this Executive Board meeting.

Certified Election Results:

Download the Full Election Results Here

The following eligible nominated candidates were elected to the 2022 Local 521 Executive Board for each office listed below and announced on Wednesday, February 9, 2022:

Officer Positions:

Chief Elected Officer (CEO): Riko Mendez; President: Carlton Allen; Secretary: Jim Heaney; Treasurer: Donald Michael Allen; Region 2 Vice President: Alicia Metters; Region 5 Vice President: Alicia Aleman.

Delegate Positions:

Santa Clara County (6): Janet Diaz, Lorena Briones, Andre Thomas, Jason Dorsey, Marvin Gin, Xavier Dupree; San Mateo County (2): Mercedes Segura; Natasha Sims; Santa Clara COE (2) Sarah Gianocaro; Dr. Angela Ballou; Fresno USD/FASTA (2): Debbie Acosta; Samuel Padilla; Kern County (3): Tracey Shofner, Robin Walters, John Rozzo; Kern Medical (2): Gabriel Garcia Barajas, LaShaka Pleasant Davis; Retiree (2): Carol Garvey, Laura P. Basua. Region 5 Trustee: Gil Garcia

Local-wide Article Amendments:

- 1. Shall SEIU Local 521 amend Article X Section 10 of the Bylaws: YES
- 2. Shall SEIU Local 521 amend Article XI Section 4 of the Bylaws: YES

Uncontested Winners by Acclamation:

The following officer, trustee, and delegate candidates were uncontested and therefore elected by acclamation. <u>Click here to download the complete list.</u>

First Vice President: Mullissa Willette; Trustee At Large: Luci Latu; AFRAM Delegate: Arvelia Cooper Whigham; APALAe: Silveria Bella Barela; Latino Caucus: Rachel Subega; Women's Caucus: Jennifer Jensen; Region 1 Vice President: Tammy Dhanota; Region 1 Trustee: Trevor Gillis; Child Care Chapter: Patricia Moran, Ayde Jaime; Redwood City Composite: Charles Drechsler, Derek Bahamondes; San Jose City Composite: Yolanda Duran, Maisha Willis; Monterey County: Yvette Carreon, Victor Caravez; Santa Cruz County: Michael Fernwood, Natisha Williams; Salinas Composite: Victor Baez; Region 3 Vice President: Kate Selover; Stanislaus County: Eric Schwarzentraub; Region 4 Vice President: Riley Talford; Region 4 Trustee: Melissa Griggs; Fresno County: Brenda A. Delsid, Lucia Sapiens, Ocean Beverly; Kern Superior Courts: Linda Wallace

Congratulations again to all of our SEIU Local 521 Executive Board winners. If you have any questions, please contact the elections committee: <u>elections@seiu521.org</u>

In unity,

The 2022 SEIU Local 521 Elections Committee: Vaughn Flaming, Region 1 Member, Santa Clara County Raul Carbajal, Region 2 Member, Monterey County Karen Bussard, Region 5 Member, Kern County